Skip to main content

Archived event

Performance details

Sunday 3 September 2023 at 11am
Iwaki Auditorium, ABC Southbank Centre

View digital program


Melbourne Ensemble

Freya Franzen violin
Jenny Khafagi violin
Christopher Cartlidge viola
Rachael Tobin cello
Stephen Newton
Ann Blackburn
Philip Arkinstall clarinet
Jack Schiller bassoon
Saul Lewis horn


Beethoven Septet: 1st movement*
Paul Dean Suite for Clarinet & Cello
Nielsen Serenata in vano*
Mozart (arr. Françaix) Nonetto

About this performance

Comprised of current and former members of the MSO, the dynamic Melbourne Ensemble returns to the MSO Chamber series.

  • The instrumentation of the Melbourne Ensemble is based around Beethoven's Septet, so they begin this performance with the first movement of one of the composer's most popular works during his lifetime.
  • Australian composer and clarinettist Paul Dean’s mischievously playful and deeply beautiful Suite for Clarinet and Cello pays modern homage to Prokofiev, Holst, Peter Sculthorpe, and vaudeville music.
  • Nielsen's delightful and humorous Serenata in vano premiered in 1914 alongside a performance of Beethoven's Septet. According to the composer, the piece portrays a small ensemble attempting to serenade a fair lady. Ultimately unsuccessful, they wander off home having played 'in vain'.
  • Jean Françaix’s Nonetto is a transcription of Mozart’s Quintet in E flat major for nine instruments, hence 'nonetto'. You'll experience the delicate and sophisticated arrangement of this intricate, charming chamber work by Mozart.

*Please note: due to unforeseen circumstances, Paul Dean's new work will not be premiered at this performance. Instead, the Melbourne Ensemble will perform the first movement of Beethoven's Septet and Nielsen's Serenata in vano.

Duration: approx. 1 hour and 30 minutes including interval.

Stay tuned. Sign up.