Skip to main content

Archived performance

Performance details

10 September 2022 at 2pm
Arts Centre Melbourne, Hamer Hall

Read program


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Fabian Russell conductor
Edward Walton violin*


Harry Sdraulig Torrent
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1*
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

About this performance

Fabian Russell leads the MSO in a collection of virtuosic works inspired by nature and folk music from around the world.

  • Australian composer Harry Sdraulig’s evocatively titled works are often inspired by the beauty and power of nature. Here, Torrent comes to life – from frenzied furiosity to thick stagnancy and back again – under the baton of much-loved Australian conductor Fabian Russell.
  • Max Bruch's First Violin Concerto is a bravura showpiece for violinists that has never waned in popularity with audiences. It is expertly handled here by fifteen-year old Edward Walton, who recently won Junior 2nd Prize in the prestigious Menuhin Competition.
  • Based on folk dances and ecclesiastical chants, but with modern hints such as the inclusion of saxophone, Symphonic Dances was the last work Rachmaninov ever composed. Virtuosic playing, heaving energy, and gentle, lingering melodies make this unforgettable work an enduring favourite of audiences the world over.

Duration: approx. 100 minutes including interval

*Please note: Edward Walton will perform Bruch's Violin Concerto No.1 in place of the originally scheduled Augustin Hadelich performing Bartók's Violin Concerto No.2.

Stay tuned. Sign up.