Skip to main content

Archived performance

Performance details

Monday 7 November 2022 at 6.30pm
Arts Centre Melbourne, Hamer Hall

Read program


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Jonathan Biss piano


Brett Dean Piano Concerto - Gneixendorf Music, a Winter’s Journey (Australian premiere of MSO co-commission)
Beethoven Symphony No.5

About this performance

Experience the grandeur of Ludwig van Beethoven at the height of his powers, alongside the Australian premiere of a bold new work by Brett Dean – inspired by Beethoven’s own piano concertos.

  • Over five years, Biss co-commissioned five composers to produce their own piano concertos in response to Beethoven’s contributions to the genre. Brett Dean’s atmospheric Gneixendorf Music, a Winter’s Journey was informed by a summer spent in the small Austrian village where Beethoven resided for a few months towards the end of his life.
  • Symphony No.5 opens with the most famous ‘da da da duumm!’ in history. But there is more to this piece than its impactful beginning: Beethoven takes a number of simple themes and expertly weaves them into a layered musical texture, all while building a sense of dramatic urgency.

Duration: approx. 1 hour, no interval

Stay tuned. Sign up.