Skip to main content

Archived event

Performance details

Wednesday 23 March 2022 at 6.30pm
Melbourne Recital Centre

Read program


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Sophie Rowell director & violin
James Crabb classical accordion


Bach Brandenburg Concerto No.3: Allegro, Adagio
Sally Beamish Brandenburg "Slow movement"
Bach Brandenburg Concerto No.3: Allegro
Sally Beamish Seavaigers

About this performance

Enjoy a quick fix of music from the baroque and beyond as MSO Concertmaster Sophie Rowell leads the Orchestra through a unique pairing of the incomparable J.S. Bach and esteemed composer Sally Beamish. Scottish classical accordion virtuoso James Crabb joins as soloist, playing the part of continuo, normally reserved for the harpsichord.

  • James Crabb has been praised world-over for his versatile musicianship, appearing with the London Philharmonic, BBC Scottish Orchestra and countless contemporary ensembles. Among his various Australian performances, Melbourne audiences will remember Crabb conducting and performing in Victorian Opera’s 2013 production of Maria de Buenos Aires.
  • The peculiar thing about Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No.3 is the lack of a fully developed slow movement. Concerti movements usually follow a fast-slow-fast format, but here Bach differed from the norm, which is how Sally Beamish’s Brandenburg “Slow movement” came to be. Intended to serve as the missing movement in a complete performance, this work was commissioned by the Lautten Compagney Berlin and first performed in 2010.

Duration: approx. 60 minutes, no interval

Stay tuned. Sign up.