Skip to main content

Streaming on MSO.LIVE

Due to the extension of event restrictions following the Victorian lockdown, these performances will not proceed as in-person events. Ticket holders have been notified by the MSO Box Office.

However, we are pleased to present this performance as a digital concert stream on MSO.LIVE. Sign up for a membership today from $15 / month or $144 annually to watch!

Learn more and sign up


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Nicholas Carter conductor
Michael Pisani cor anglais


Haydn Symphony No.96 Miracle
Anne Cawrse The Rest is Silence, Concerto for Cor Anglais and Orchestra (World premiere of an MSO Commission)

About the performance

Nicholas Carter conducts a program celebrating new voices and miraculous music. Alongside Haydn’s Miracle Symphony you'll experience a world premiere for English Horn featuring MSO's own Michael Pisani.

  • A miraculous symphony
    It’s believed the premiere of Haydn’s Symphony No.96 occurred at his very first London concert, in March of 1791 – the name Miracle comes from the story that a chandelier came crashing down in the hall, incredibly without injuring anyone. This incident actually occurred at a different Haydn concert, but the extraordinary circumstances are the same.
  • The English horn in the spotlight
    Adelaide-based composer Anne Cawrse (b. 1981) has been commissioned by many outstanding Australian ensembles, including MSO, ASO, PLEXUS and the Australian String Quartet. Her new work The Rest is Silence is a musical response to the Aldous Huxley quote: “After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music”..

Duration: approx. 45 minutes with no interval.
Program and artists subject to change.

*The originally scheduled Symphony in C by Stravinsky has been removed from this program.

Concert Program

Stay tuned. Sign up.