Skip to main content

Archived performance

Performance details

21 August 2019 at 11am
Arts Centre Melbourne, Hamer Hall

Read program

About this performance

Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No.1
Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream (excerpts)

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider conductor
Jian Wang cello

The concert
The impeccable artistry of Camille Saint-Saëns is heard to grand effect in the first of his cello concertos, a work radiant with the melodic elegance and soulful passion that the cello conveys so well. The concerto is characteristic of Saint-Saëns’ desire to extend upon the foundations of the great classical repertoire through the gradual evolution of the composer’s skill and craftsmanship.

Mendelssohn’s music to accompany A Midsummer Night’s Dream was born from a deep affection for Shakespeare’s plays that stemmed from the composer’s childhood. Mendelssohn converted his delight in Shakespeare’s words and stories into music bristling with the comic electricity and fairyland charm of the play. Star violinist turned conductor, Nikolaj Znaider brings his superb musicianship to this concert, and will lead the Orchestra through this winter-warming concert.

Running time
1 hour, no interval

Pictured: Znaider Nikolaj | Image credit: Lars Gundersen

Stay tuned. Sign up.