Skip to main content

Archived performance

Performance details

29 May 2019 at 7.30pm
Melbourne Recital Centre

31 May 2019 at 7.30pm
Robert Blackwood Hall, Monash University

Read program

About this performance

Pärt Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Britten Rondo Concertante
Britten Young Apollo
Mozart Serenata Notturna
Mozart Symphony No.29

Christopher Moore director / viola
Stefan Cassomenos piano

About the performance
Not interested in playing first or second fiddle, MSO Principal Violist Chris Moore leads the band in this concert, which features music of real emotional depth.

Arvo Pärt’s Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten is an iconic work. Composed in honour of the great British composer, this hauntingly beautiful music unfolds like the slow pealing of bells, in a series of minor scales scored for strings and a single chime.

Any darkness cast is lightly brushed away by the final piece on this program: the breezy Symphony No.29 of Mozart, one of the composer’s best-known early symphonic works.

Running time
1 hour and 30 minutes, including a 20-minute interval.

Pictured: Christopher Moore | Image credit: Hugh Peachey

Stay tuned. Sign up.